Skip to content

Who Have You Chosen to BE?

July 4, 2012

I am subscribed to several blogs and one is particularly thought provoking. Some of us are “busy enough” in our days that we don’t want to spend any energy considering new ideas. While I am not really philosophical in my make-up, I personally believe a bit of introspection goes a long way to assessing who I am and who I want to become.  And it seems  that the people I know who don’t take some time to ponder their pathway are often stuck in a rut they don’t like, often putting blame on outside issues.

Teresa Silverthorn sent this out a while ago and I have been pondering sharing it with you. As we recover from the horrible storm a week ago Friday, we have had a chance to see how our friends and neighbors cope. A crisis brings out the “best” and the “worst” in ways regular living may not show.

Consider these ideas:

You Are

25MondayJun 2012

Posted by 
“You are the collection of thoughts that go through your head from day-to-day.
You are the books you read.
The movies you watch.
The conversations you have.
The music you listen to.
You are these things.
A potpourri of thoughts that develop into action.
The source of your “self” is what is in your mind each day.
Therefore, if you don’t like who you are, change your mind…”
10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2012 8:22 am

    how very true.

    • July 4, 2012 8:32 am

      Most people do not even begin to realize what they have permitted to be part of their lives. I am NOT advocating censorship on any level, but recognizing and then excluding things that negatively affect your view of life for yourself and your children can lead to a healthier outlook.

  2. July 4, 2012 12:46 pm

    I’m so grateful you’ve blogged about this subject. I too, have been pondering “Who I Am”.
    I love the “You Are” poem / sentiment too!
    As for me, here’s what I’ve come up with so far:
    http://takeituponyourself.wordpress.com/2012/05/17/about-my-blog-name/

    • July 4, 2012 12:51 pm

      Yeah,not exactly on topic of West Virginia farming, but I have been presenting a lot of information about how eating local foods helps not only the local economy but also personal nutrition. I keep hearing lots of excuses…people find it very difficult to change. But I received that other blog and it seemed to prod me to say..okay now, take some responsibility for you life and the choices you have made!

      • July 4, 2012 1:03 pm

        I understand this is off topic of WV farming to but as you say changing is hard. Most people think it’s hard to change. What they fail to understand is change is just accomplished one thought, one action, at a time.

        We just attended our campground’s free barbeque for the Fourth of July holiday and my husband and I were the only two people to politely refuse the buns (whitebread). All the ladies serving us judged us immediately as “good”, “look who is dieting”, etc and I found that somewhat ironic as most overweight folks feel thin people judge them. We replied that we don’t eat gluten and left it at that but as we moved on down the food line I couldn’t help hear the ladies continue to discuss our choice. Ah, maybe we are planting seeds and farming thoughts.

  3. July 4, 2012 12:53 pm

    P.S. I have found a some self help free “tools” folks can use, if like you and me they want to unburden themselves from, “putting blame on outside issues”. One is called EFT or Tapping, another is called Open Attention or HeartSourcing. Finally for those locked within their own prison, The Work by Byron Katie. If you Google any of those you can view free videos to learn how.
    Blessings to all.

  4. July 5, 2012 1:53 pm

    Huh! Seems she missed one. This one I think aliens itself with your blog. And that is, “You are what you eat”

    • July 6, 2012 12:38 pm

      Funny that you spelled aligns as aliens…if you read some of her other posts it gets into interesting concepts to consider.

      • July 6, 2012 1:16 pm

        Ha ha! Oh my…I knew I misspelled it so I used spell check to correct it! Spell check must have thought I meant aliens!!!

Leave a Reply

