Skip to content

Geocaching….lead me to your eggs

June 9, 2012

Think about all the technology that has evolved over your lifetime. I really enjoy my GPS when driving to areas I don’t know. Understanding the limitations of the model I purchased, I have not turned down any railroad tracks at the “Turn right!” command, and sometimes, when I plan to visit a farm, the owner will warn me that the GPS does not work right to locate their driveway.

First, you can help people find you by identifying your GPS location and adding that to any offered directions to your farm. And, with only a couple of hours of your time, not only will the GPS be able to lead people to your farmyard, but you can make visiting your farm and having more people buy your farm product a passive marketing aspect for your business.

 GEOCACHING is a real-world outdoor treasure hunting game. Players try to locate hidden containers, called geocaches, using GPS-enabled devices and then share their experiences online.  The traditional cache is a weatherproof container with a log book or logsheet. Larger containers generally include items for trade. “Nano” or “micro” caches are tiny containers that only hold a logsheet. The coordinates listed on the traditional cache page provide the geocache’s exact location.

This is a growing sport which started in 2000. In West Virginia there are 4774 geocaches currently registered. Currently there are over 5 million geocachers worldwide with over 1,700,000 cache locations!   I plugged in my zip code and was amazed to discover there are over 20 located within a few blocks of my home in Huntington! Instructions are easy on how to set up a cache location.

Two more things to consider:

1. Remember to have a sign about products available for purchase and

2. Just don’t place the cache in the pasture with the bull.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2012 4:23 am

    Especially like the second thing to consider!

    • June 9, 2012 4:25 am

      Yeah, there are plenty of idiots like me who try to pet the animals.LOL And, probably would not close the gate.

  2. June 9, 2012 7:37 am

    Interesting game, I never heard of it before but then I just found out no one uses Morris Code anymore as they got this telephone thing now. (no wonder I get no return answers on my telegraph! )

    • June 9, 2012 7:41 am

      I bet smoke signals may no longer be effective too LOL

      • June 9, 2012 7:54 am

        What???? Next you’ll be tellin’ me to throw away my mirrors, signal flags and the dang lanterns hung up in the church steeple! Just as soon as I can, I’ll let all my kin folks know about this by sendin’ ’em all a letter when the Pony Express rider shows up!

  3. August 9, 2012 9:36 am

    Something I’ve always wanted to try but haven’t yet; my sister is into this – looks like fun! Reckon it’s time to take the bull by the horns . . . or . . . maybe . . . not. 😯

    • August 9, 2012 11:56 am

      try it once near your home….I was suprised to find so many right in my zip code.

      • August 9, 2012 11:03 pm

        funny you say that. today I was looking for some info on a local artist, and found (who’d a thunk?) a bunch of geocaches on a map of the area. How that came up, I dunno!!

      • August 10, 2012 2:50 pm

        I think you are meant to play it out LOL have fun

      • August 10, 2012 10:22 pm

        yah, I think I’ll look into that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

