Skip to content

Chickens…..

April 3, 2012
tags: , ,

My mother grew up a on chicken farm in New Jersey and I remember going into the chicken coops with my grandfather when I was very small. He retired by the time I went to kindergarten, but I still remember how terrified I was walking in amongst the birds, afraid they would peck me on the legs.  I was scared, but I grew up assuming all chickens were free to walk around, free to range.

source: Weezer Society---so very similar to my memory

Of course I learned otherwise. The chickens we usually purchase in our supermarkets are warehoused for only as long as they get large enough to process out. Knowing that has been a big reason some people become vegan.

Recently we rented a house for a short stay while we were in Eugene, Oregon. Like many property owners there, the woman who owned the cottage had free range chickens.

She came each morning to let them out and gather eggs. In the evening she would return, look for more eggs, and get them back inside for the night.

As I look through the list of farms that have registered with WVFarm2u I see there are many throughout the state that have free range eggs for sale.

One of the other hats I wear is a moderator for the local Freecycle board. There have been more and more requests for items to help people start raising chickens in their yard.

Free range……it’s spreading.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

April 4, 2012: Even the New York Times wrote about the proliferation of backyard and rooftop  chickens today!!!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2012 3:35 pm

    The middle shot looks like a batch we had for a few years. Chickens can be a whole lot of fun and the baby chicks are beyond cute. You can sure tell free-range from factory farm by the yolks.

    • April 3, 2012 3:44 pm

      The chickens in that backyard in Eugene were gorgeous and the eggs were not only beautifully colored but delicious!

  2. April 4, 2012 1:39 pm

    We free-range our chickens and wouldn’t have it any other way. The eggs are taste so much better–I think it’s because the chickens are happier 🙂

    • April 4, 2012 2:43 pm

      I can’t begin to imagine the way chickens may feel but I agree they tasted great!!!

  3. April 5, 2012 9:28 pm

    Hey thanks for stopping by and liking my post. We are very excited to be picking up our chickens on Saturday. My wife actually set up the bathtub brooder today… the bathtub has sliding glass doors to keep our 3 dogs and 2 cats from having chicken nuggets before they get big enough for the coop. We also garden and buy local food as much as possible up here in the northeast. Glad to know more and more of us are out there!

    • April 6, 2012 4:20 am

      What a great idea with the bathtub doors but my cat would be working on those LOL

Leave a Reply

