Skip to content

Repost from everchangingbutterfly: Cookin with your kids

May 7, 2012

Whenever I publish a blog for WVFarm2u I then look at other recent blogs with a similar theme. I recently found this blog and wanted to share it.

It is not from West Virginia, but that doesn’t matter. The recipes she offers may not be your cup of tea, but that’s not the point here either.

The point is she has realized she has to change her ways. She has to change what she puts into her body and she realizes that she has responsibility to getting her kids’ eating habits to change!

And she is getting active in her community to try to help others do the same.

I believe it shows how the thinking about getting back to cooking in order to provide better nutrition to a family is spreading.  I am not the only one realizing it is time to be smarter about what I eat and recognizing it is my responsibility to make sure my family becomes healthier.

everchangingbutterfly

Cookin with your kids :)

BY EVERCHANGINGBUTTERFLY ON APRIL 26, 2012

I know, I know…you get home after a crazy day of work, school, after-school activities, and the last thing you want to do is gather your kids into the kitchen & start peeling carrots, right?  Well, maybe for some of you that is what you look forward too.  If so, that’s inspiring!  I have been cooking more meals lately or should I say, “crock potting” my way through life, but that is not always how it’s been or really what I want to do. Secretly, I’d rather pick something up or go out to eat. Awe! The luxury of not cleaning up the kitchen…it’s such a sweet sweet thing.

About a month ago my good friend and nutritional mentor, Patti, had the idea of starting a group for Mountainside families (the school Ayden attends).     She wanted to focus on getting parents and their children back in the kitchen.  I came up with the name Big & Lil Chefs.  Although I’m no chef I absolutely LOVED the name and what I LOVED even more was the idea of watching families have a blast together making healthy meals.  It’s so much easier than people think and quite honestly it’s really fun!

When researching and brainstorming I found so many links on the benefits of cooking as a family. Not only will your child develop healthier eating habits for a lifetime (not to mention pass those habits on to his/her own family), but cooking with your children may possible build their self -esteem and keep them off drugs.  Sounds good to me!  I want to experiment and tag these links-they should be below.  I’ll do my best.

I just had a little coffee and I thought I may have had too much because I’m shaking, but I realized that I’m just excited.  This afternoon will be my very first healthy food demo.  Today we will be talking about breakfast! We will be making a Peanut Butter, Jam and Banana Breakfast Pizza – I’ll just call it Jammin Banana Pie  www.ohsheglows.com/2010/09/08/peanut-butter-jam-banana-breakfast-pizza/  and two smoothies.  One is Cakebatter Milkshake (a slightly altered version of Chocolate Covered Katies Healthy Cake Batter Milkshake www.chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2011/03/09/healthy-cake-batter-milkshake/ and  the other is the Secret Ingredient Smoothie.  I’m going to attach the 3 recipes for you    I hope you enjoy them.  I had the cakebatter smoothie this morning. YUMMY!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2012 6:29 am

    I’m always heartened to see folks trying to live healthier lives. I suggest a few cooking sessions on eating local next!

    • May 7, 2012 6:38 am

      I agree…..some simple recipes might be a good idea…maybe once a week?

  2. May 7, 2012 9:33 am

    I hope this is the way it starts and grows from there.

  3. MJ Wenzel permalink
    May 7, 2012 1:56 pm

    This was great! Thanks for finding it and sharing it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 561 other followers

